Formula Drift Hype: Michael Essa Wins Round 6 In Texas!

Just as the headline says the man in the glasses Michael Essa won his second event this season by taking the top spot at Formula Drift Round 6 at Texas Motor Speedway.  Essa defeated the likes of Joon Maeng, Toshiki Yoshioka, Fredric Aasbo, and even Chris “The Force” Forsberg to make it to the finals against Matt Field! Yes, Matt freaking Field!  Mr. Field was on a mission all day and it paid off in the form of his first Formula Drift podium finish.

Chris Forsberg defeated Patrick Mordaunt (who also had a strong performance this weekend and even beat Vaughn Gittin Jr!) to take third place.

So once again this is the official podium for Formula Drift Round 6:

1st place: Michael Essa
2nd place: Matt Field
3rd place: Chris Forsberg

Michael Essa is now leading in the overall Championship points battle with 489.5 points with Chris Forsberg only 15.5 points behind.  Realistically every driver from 6th place (Justin Pawlak) up to 3rd ( Fredric Aasbo) has a shot at the 2013 Championship.

With only one round left, the finals at Irwindale are shaking up to be one heck of a battle!  Stay tuned for our coverage!

%d bloggers like this: