Hype Event: Targa Trophy Round 3

We’re a bit late on the story but the last round of the Targa Trophy series is in the books.  History was made as the first woman to win an event Jennifer Doud won the final round in the Las Vegas desert with her BMW 335i and a Champion was crowned as Rado Kalla locked in the points with his Lamborghini Gallardo Spyder to take the top prize (which was a set of custom HRE wheels….Jealous!).  I think we’re going to have to look into competing in this series next year.  Do you think they’ll let in a 1997 BMW 528i?




[Photos: The ID Agency]

Press Release:

For Immediate Release

November 12, 2010

Jennifer Doud in a BMW 335i Takes the Victory at the Las Vegas Desert Finale;
Rado Kalla Becomes the 2010 Targa Trophy Triple Crown Champion

LOS ANGELES – November 12, 2010 – The Targa Trophy North America’s premier automotive lifestyle rally event, concluded the Triple Crown series with Event #3 the Desert Championship Finale in Las Vegas, NV. Jennifer Doud and navigator Enrico Del Mar took the victory in a BMW 335i, while Radoslav Kalla and navigator, Mark Bauman become the Triple Crown champions in a Lamborghini Gallardo Spyder. Doud becomes the first female Targa Trophy winner in the 4 year event history.

“I’ve never been so excited in my life!” exclaimed Jennifer Doud, winner of Event #3, the Desert Championship Finale. “I had so much fun driving in the Targa Trophy rally and keeping up with the boys…passing a couple of them too. So to all the ladies out there that love to drive…come join me next year for the 2011 Targa Trophy.” The final leg of the 2010 Triple Crown Series began at ARIA Resort & Casino on the Las Vegas Strip gathering over 50 vehicles that consisted of show cars, exotics, and sports cars. The 6-hour journey took drivers and navigators around the desert to scenic landscapes and challenging back roads. Teams were tested on their driving abilities and navigational prowess as they followed a road book from checkpoint to checkpoint.

“I’ve done 6 Targa Trophy rallies and never even placed because I just like to drive really fast,” said Enrico Del Mar, navigator of Jennifer Doud’s BMW 335i. “This was new to me and never would I have thought that I would have such a great time being the navigator. This has been the best Targa Trophy ever! We will be back to defend our title! ” With the Triple Crown Championship on the line the teams pushed the limits of the vehicles doing their best to stay within the Targa time and mileage. Jennifer Doud in a BMW 335i took the victory and finished 5th overall for the season winning a limited edition Targa Trophy pendant custom designed by LUZ, a certificate from HRE Wheels, a 2-night stay at ARIA, a one year subscription to European Car, and a copy of Forza Motorsport 3 for the XBOX 360. Taking home the title of Targa Trophy Triple Crown Champion was Rado Kalla and navigator Mark Bauman, in a Lamborghini Gallardo Spyder. Kalla won Event #1 and stayed consistent in the remaining two events on his way to the championship. With the victory he will receive a custom set of HRE Wheels, one-year subscription to European Car, and a copy of Forza Motorsport 3.

“The Targa Trophy finale event was truly Vegas style and first class event,” stated Rado Kalla, winner of the Targa Trophy Triple Crown. “This was the best year in my rally history and I look forward to next season. Thank you to Jason and the Targa Trophy team for putting together another amazing event.” As a bonus Forza Motorsport held a gaming challenge at the pre-event party within ARIA and Dieter Heintz took the victory with the best lap time and won a limited edition Forza Motorsport XBOX console and Playseat gaming station. “The Targa Trophy Desert Championship Finale successfully concludes the most dynamic three events we have ever produced,” says Jason Overell, founder of Targa Trophy. “It all came to a conclusion in one of the nation’s premier entertainment destinations Sin City, Las Vegas. We had some amazing cars in our Finale event and they traversed one of the most challenging and scenic routes we have ever developed. We would like to thank all those who participated this year and say congratulations to all the winners from the finale.”

%d bloggers like this: